Skip to content Skip to navigation

New Books and DVDs

The storm
The storm : a novel
Arif Anwar
PR9199.4.A588 S86 2018
"At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer." --from Melvyl catalog.
Singing in the age of anxiety
Singing in the age of anxiety : lieder performances in New York and London between the World Wars
Laura Tunbridge
ML2811.8.N48 T76 2018
"Through richly varied case studies, Singing in the Age of Anxiety traces how lieder were circulated, presented, and consumed in metropolitan contexts, shedding new light on how music facilitated unlikely crossings of nationalist and internationalist ideologies during the interwar period." --from Melvyl catalog.
In their own best interest
In their own best interest : a history of the U.S. effort to improve Latin Americans
Lars Schoultz
F1418 .S395 2018
"In this book, Lars Schoultz explores the culture of "improvement" that defines the attitudes and values shaping all United States policies towards Latin America in the past and present. Schoultz's aim is to find the sources of this political and intellectual culture which has informed our relations with our southern neighbors and which continues to do so despite its faulty premises and its failure to effect change and transformation." --from Melvyl catalog.
Metamorphica
Metamorphica
Zachary Mason
PS3613.A8185 M483 2018
"In the tradition of his bestselling debut novel The Lost Books of the Odyssey, Zachary Mason's Metamorphica transforms Ovid's epic poem of endless transformation. It reimagines the stories of Narcissus, Pygmalion and Galatea, Midas and Atalanta, and strings them together like the stars in constellations--even Ovid becomes a story." --from Melvyl catalog.
The equations of life
The equations of life : how physics shapes evolution
Charles Cockell
QH360.5 .C63 2018
"In The Equations of Life, biologist Charles Cockell makes the surprising argument that the Universe constrains life, making its evolutionary outcomes quite predictable--in short, if we were to find, on some distant planet, something very much like a ladybug eating something very much like an aphid that had itself just been feeding on the sap of something very much like a flower, we shouldn't at all be surprised." --from Melvyl catalog.
The empire's new clothes
The empire's new clothes : a history of the Russian fashion industry, 1700-1917
Christine Ruane
GT1043 .R83 2009
"This book explores the impact of Westernization on Russia in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and presents a wealth of photographs of ordinary Russians in all their finery. This book shows how the fashion industry became a forum through which Russians debated and formed a new national identity." --Jacket.
The death of truth
The death of truth : notes on falsehood in the age of Trump
Michiko Kakutani
JK1726 .K355 2018
"Former New York Times critic Michiko Kakutani takes a penetrating look at the cultural forces that contributed to this gathering storm. In social media and literature, television, academia, and politics, Kakutani identifies the trends -- originating on both the right and the left -- that have combined to elevate subjectivity over factuality, science, and common values." --from Melvyl Catalog.