Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "A"

Legend

Research Starting Points

A-Z Maps Online 
 
 

Includes 4,000+ maps: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 
 
 

1920-present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.

Academic Conferences in China 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Contains full-text papers, or abstracts and other descriptive information of papers from national and international conferences held in China from 1986 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) – Trial Access 
 
 

Contains expanded access to academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in a broad array of disciplines via EBSCOhost. Both English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America are included. Available on a two month UC-wide trial.

Access Engineering (Selected Titles hosted by CDL) 
 
 

Selected engineering texts from McGraw-Hill. Includes titles focused on Electrical, Civil, Mechanical and Chemical engineering disciplines. Includes Perry’s Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.

ACLS Humanities e-Book 
 

A collection of 1,700 plus full-text titles focused on the humanities. Unlimited multi-user access.

ACM Digital Library 
 
 

Allows searching of articles from publications of the Association for Computing Machinery by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Over 22,000 articles have displayable full-text available.

Acta Sanctorum 
 
 

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete texts of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum, published in Antwerp and Brussels, from 1643-1940. Includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

Ad*Access Project 
 

An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.

Africa Development Indicators Online  
 
 

1960+ Social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, & environmental indicators on Africa.

Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO) 
 
 

An index for material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Topics range from politics and law to anthropology and music. It points to various formats including books, journal articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, report, theses, and music recording.

African American Newspapers 
 
 

1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 
 
 

Fully searchable database features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, and more.

African Writers Series 
 
 

The Heinemann's African Writers Series includes seminal works from the canon of African literature of the 20th century: influential stories, drama, poetry, author biographies and literary works from notable authors such as Nelson Mandela and Nadine Gordimer.

AgEcon Search 
 

AgEcon Search is an open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics that includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality  
 

Provides access to practical health care information, research findings, and medical data to help consumers, health providers, researchers, and policymakers make informed decisions about health care issues. Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog 
 

Search the National Agricultural Library Catalog and Article Citation Database or browse by subject. Topics covered include agriculture, agronomy, animal science, aquaculture, biology, botany, breeding, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, environment, fertilizers, pesticides, food agriculture, forestry, and horticulture.

AGRIS 
 

AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology created by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations in 1974. Covers journal articles, books, and reports on agricultural sciences and technology, including fisheries and aquaculture.

AIP Scitation 
 
 

Provides online access to a robust collection of close to 1 million articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and AIPP's publishing partners.

Pages