Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "B"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Based on the Book 
 

A database of selected books that have been made into movies.

Bibliography of American Literature 
 
 

BAL - Nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (EBSCO) 
 
 

Contains more than 780,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Bibliography of British and Irish History 
 
 

Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. Also provides links to online catalogs from libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and provides links to online text where available.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
 

BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

BIODIDAC 
 

This site contains hundreds of images organized into three sections covering Zoology, Botany, and Histology. All images can be used for non-commercial purposes.

Biodiversity Heritage Library 
 

A sizable collection of digitized, open access books and journals on biodiversity created by a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries.  Searchable by title, author, subject, publication date, collection or contributing library.

Bioline International 
 

A collection of peer-reviewed, open access journals published in developing countries focusing on public health, international development, food and nutritional security, tropical medicine and biodiversity.

BioMed Central 
 

BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes (ProQuest) 
 
 

Provides access to abstracts of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals.

BioOne Complete 
 
 

A collection from BioOne of 200+ high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Biosis Citation Index 
 
 

1926 - present. Supports access, research and discovery in the life sciences. Indexes 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records. Includes conference proceedings, books and patents. Biosis Previews are included in Biosis Citation Index.

BIOSIS Previews via Web of Knowledge 
 
 

1926 - present.The largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals, books, conferences and patents.

Black Drama 
 
 

1850 - present.Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.

Black Studies Center 
 
 

The Black Studies Center compiles historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Black Thought and Culture 
 
 

Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Black Women Writers 
 
 

Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.

Book Citation Index  
 
 

(2005-present) Connects the library’s book collection to additional discovery tools, optimizing citation navigation between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Botanical Society of America Online Image Collection 
 

Searchable database of over 800 botanical teaching slides.

Box Office Guru 
 

Compiles box office data on films released since 1989, updated weekly using data from Variety. The site also includes upcoming releases and a list of the all-time top-grossing motion pictures.

Pages