Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "C"

Legend

Research Starting Points

C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index 
 
 

A source for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Draws on established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage.

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) 
 
 

Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).

California Health Interview Survey 
 

CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.

California Historical Newspapers 
 
 

Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.

California Quick Facts 
 

Census links to California data from 2010 census population data, the latest Economic Census, County Business Patterns and other reports.

Calisphere 
 

A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) 
 

A database of accurate 3-D small-molecule organic and meta-organic crystal structures. Includes coverage of published literature and directly deposited data, validated and cross-checked by expert chemists and crystallographers. (Can be downloaded from the linked site.)

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
 

Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

Caribbean Literature 
 
 

When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
 
 

1994 - present.Known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT), this is a top choice for finding government documents.

Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes 
 
 

A collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
 

CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Center for Security Studies (CSS) 
 

Open access information for international relations and security professionals. Resources portion of the site includes 75,000+ digital library, datasets, graphics and roster of 2,700 IR and security-focused organizations. Previously ISN International Relations & Security Network.

CHEMnetBASE 
 
 

Gateway to web versions of Chapman & Hall/CRC chemical information resources. Contains information on physical property data, structural representations, and chemical synonyms.

Chicago Manual of Style 
 
 

Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices. Includes fully searchable Q & A content, and Tools such as sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and a quick guide to citation.

Chicano Database (EBSCO) 
 
 

Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

China Academic Journals 
 
 

Contains more than 3,500 full-text Chinese Journals. Content begins as early as 1906 and continues to the mid-twentieth century through 1993. Contains deep backfiles of full text journals with access to the following series only: Series F - Literature/History/Philosophy; Series G - Politics/Military Affairs/Law; Series H - Education & Social Sciences.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Chinamaxx Digital Library 
 
 

Full-text access to over 50,000 Chinese e-book titles from the Beijing SuperStar Digital Library in 22 major categories, including literature, history, law, economics, environmental studies, sciences, medicine, and engineering.

Pages