Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "D"

Legend

Research Starting Points

D-PLACE: Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment 
 

Brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1400 human societies, facilitating comparison and contrast of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.

Dacheng Old Journal Full Text Database 
 
 

Includes more than 7,000 journal titles and 130,000 issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Articles can be downloaded in PDF format.

Data Citation Index  
 
 

(1900 – present) Supports data discovery, reuse, and interpretation. Provides access to datasets in multiple repositories from a single destination.

Data USA  
 

Combines publicly accessible US government data from a variety of statistical agencies in one website and visualization engine. Created by M.I.T Media Lab, with a focus on critical issues facing the United States in areas like jobs, skills and education across industry and geography.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets 
 
 

Provides access to data from government and public domain statistical producing agencies, comprising 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets sourced from more than 70 source organizations. Users can chart, map, and compare 10 million time series at the county, MSA, state and national levels. Includes access to EASI Market Planner.

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference  
 
 

Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.

Database of Chinese Local Records (中國方志庫) Zhongguo fangzhi ku Database 1 and 2  
 
 

A resource of more than 10,000 local gazetteers and 10 million digitized images from the Song to the Republican eras.  Available via Erudition. To search, select the third line of resources under Product and proceed to log in via the blue button without inserting a user id or password. Then select the blue icon on the far left, top row.  Access is restricted to one user at a time. After use, please log out. Revisit if you are unable to access. 

DataSF 
 

DataSF is a clearinghouse of datasets available from the City & County of San Francisco.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection 
 
 

Over 11,000 map images from the 18th and 19th centuries of North and South America.

Declassified Documents Reference System  
 
 

Declassified Documents Reference System is now U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale).

Defining Gender 
 
 

1450 - 1910. Thematically organized documents from 21 libraries for comparative study and research. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations address key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.

Derwent Innovations Index  
 
 

(1993 - present) Delivers enriched patent literature from more than 40 patent-issuing authorities. Combines value-added patent records from Derwent World Patents Index with patent citation information from Patents Citation Index.

Dictionary of Organic Compounds 
 
 

Physical and chemical constants for organic compounds; includes structure diagrams and literature references on synthesis, structure and spectra, etc. Available via ChemNetBase. (Requires Java plugin.)

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Digital Gazetteer of the Song Dynasty 
 

A database designed to identify the events that transformed the political landscape of the Song Dynasty (960-1276) and developed to support Ruth Mostern's book, Dividing the Realm in Order to Govern: The Spatial Organization of the Song State. Download and utilize the MySQL version of the DGSD for complex or extensive data analysis.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) 
 
 

1945 - present. Contains declassified government documents including policy documents, presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, etc. Covers critical world events from post WWII through the 21st century.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) 
 

DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items from digital collections around the United States. Includes photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images and more. Search by topic, timeline, map, and format.

Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions, 1789 – Present 
 
 

1789 – Present. Contains searchable full text of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present. Individual bills may be directly accessed or searched via a composite bill profile page that links out to its various versions. 

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker 
 
 

Collection of literary and non-literary German writing, covering the work of more than 30 authors. The texts span eleven centuries and range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century.

Digitalia Hispanica 
 
 

Provides access to over five thousand digitized Spanish language academic ebooks and ejournals from a broad range of subjects.

Pages