Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "F"

Legend

Research Starting Points

F1000Prime 
 
 

Identifies important articles in biology and medical research publications, selected by a global 'Faculty' of more than 8,000 scientists and clinicians. Their recommendations form a fully searchable database containing more than 100,000 records. 

F1000Research 
 
 

An open research publishing platform for life scientists offering immediate publication of articles, posters and slides. Access to F1000 Faculty Reviews, open access reviews providing extensive coverage of the life sciences is also included.

F1000Workspace 
 
 

A free suite of tools to help with writing, collaborating, reference management and preparation for publishing within the life sciences.

Factiva Access 
 
 

Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.

Faculty of 1000 : Biology Reports Ltd. 
 
 

Faculty of 1000 : Biology Reports Ltd. is now F1000Prime.

Faculty of 1000: Post-Publication Peer Review 
 
 

Faculty of 1000: Post-Publication Peer Review is now F1000Research.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) 
 
 

1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.

FAOStat 
 

Note: Registration is free but required. Downloads are limited to 4,000 records at a time. International statistics on production, trade, food balances, forestry, land use, irrigation, fertilizer, pesticides, agriculture, food aid, and fisheries.

Farber Gravestone Collection 
 
 

The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource containing over 13,500 images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800, in the Northeastern part of the United States.

Fashion Net 
 

Covers the latest information on designers, books, labels, blogs, agencies, magazines and schools.

FedBizOpps 
 
 

FedBizOpps lists U.S. Government procurement invitations and contract awards. Look here for subcontracting leads, surplus property sales, and foreign business opportunities. Alert service available by e-mail.

Federal Citizen Information Center 
 

Provides access to the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.

Federal Digital System (FDSYS) 
 

Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Includes presidential documents, congressional bills and reports, economic indicators, federal register, public and private laws and more. The new beta version is also available at govinfo.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index 
 
 

Contains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals 
 
 

 Offers in-depth coverage of academic and popular film journals. The database also contains Treasures from Film Archives, an index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.

FiberLinks.com 
 

FiberLinks.com offers Web links to fiber information organizations and governmental agencies.

Film Index International 
 
 

Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, Film Index International indexes entertainment films from over 170 countries. Includes information on films, personalities and scholarly works related to film studies.

Film Literature Index 
 

1976 - 2001. Includes 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.

Filmakers Library Online 
 
 

Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum. Presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Flickr Commons 
 

Searchable public photo repository. Includes historical photos as well as more recent images.

Pages