Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "G"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Gale Artemis Literary Sources 
 
 

Brings together Gale’s Literature Resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online. Includes workflow tools and features such as term frequency graphs and topic finder to further enhance research.

GenderWatch (ProQuest) 
 
 

1970s-present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.

GeneCards: The Human Gene Database 
 

Mines and compiles gene-centric data from over 125 web sources. Maintained in the Crown Human Genome Center at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, GeneCards aims to integrate information scattered over a variety of specialized databases into a coherent picture.

GeoRef* (ProQuest) 
 
 

*Includes GeoRef in Process. 1963-present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

German Literary Expressionism Online (Der literarische Expressionismus Online) 
 
 

1910-1930. 150 journals, yearbooks, anthologies and collections from the early 20th century, providing a unique body of text for research of the German expressionist movement.

Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online 
 
 

1543 - 1945Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.

Getty Research Library 
 

Includes the Art & Architecture Thesaurus, the Getty Provenance Index and the Photo Study Collection.

Global Financial Data 
 
 

Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for more than 200 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedia that describes the database.

Global Road Warrior 
 
 

Information on culture, communications, travel, business and maps for 175 countries and territories.

globalEDGE 
 

Provides in depth information and data for research and teaching International Business courses. Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University.

Google News Archive 
 

An archive of scanned newspapers. Chronological coverage varies with content from the early 1800s until 2009. The content focuses on North American titles. Note: Google is no longer actively archiving newspapers.

Google Patent Search 
 

Searches patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

Google Scholar 
 

A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical reports.

govinfo 
 

Provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Federal Government. A beta site which will eventually replace Federal Digital System.

GPO (Government Printing Office) Catalog via FirstSearch 
 
 

1976 - present.Known as the Monthly Catalog, this is a top choice for finding government documents. Search by subject, title, SuDoc number, etc. Includes any government publications cataloged via the Government Printing Office.

GPO Access (US Government) 
 

Locate online versions of major U.S. government publications such as: the Congressional Record, bills, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, and executive branch documents.

Grants.gov 
 

Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards.

Great Buildings Collection 
 

Multimedia encyclopedia of world architecture.

GreenFILE (EBSCO) 
 
 

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

GRID: Global Research Identifier Database  
 

An open access database of 50,000 research institution names across 212 countries created to provide standardized information about organisations and act as a gateway between different datasets. 

Pages