Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "H"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science 
 
 

Provides comprehensive coverage in the field of developmental science, including thorough explanations of theories and methods. This new seventh edition has been revised to reflect recent advances in the field, including reconceptions of theory, cultural concerns, and applications in each chapter. 

Handbook of Latin American Studies 
 

1935 - present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index 
 
 

1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

HarpWeek 
 
 

1857 - 1912. Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly a weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century. Besides coverage of news and opinion, the database includes illustrations, cartoons, literature, biographies and advertisements.

Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation Research Grants 
 

The foundation welcomes proposals from any of the natural and social sciences and the humanities that promise to increase understanding of the causes, manifestations, and control of violence and aggression.

Hartill Collection 
 
 

The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (primarily architecture).The Hartill Collection includes works from major periods, and monuments such as the Great Pyramids at Giza, Stonehenge, and the Viet Nam War Memorial. Covers the architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity through the present, and from the Middle East to the Americas. Includes thousands of details of architectural decoration, mosaics, sculpture and stained glass, as well as related decorative arts and public sculpture. Exceptionally strong in European medieval architecture and sculpture of the Romanesque and Gothic periods; additionally, modern architecture and sculpture are both especially well represented.

Harvard University Library 
 

Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

Hathi Trust (Traditional Catalog Search) 
 

A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. This search defaults to searching full view texts. Download books and create collections using your UCMnetID.

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
 

A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History 
 

Combines 300 chronologies, close to 1000 essays, and over 7000 works of art to create a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history through The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Heritage of the Printed Book 
 
 

Currently unavailable. 1455-1830. Records for books and serials produced in Europe during the hand-press period.

HighWire  
 

Provides access to the online archive of free full-text articles from journals published with HighWire Press. Content concentrates primarily in the fields of biology, medicine, health sciences, psychology and sociology. 

Hispanic American Newspaper 
 
 

1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) 
 
 

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use American History and Life.

Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey)  
 
 

Provides access to Palmer's Index to the Times, (1790-1905), Historical Index to the New York Times, (1851-1923), and Official Index to The Times, (190 -1980).

Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives 
 

Photographs focus upon the unique cultural heritage of the state and territory of Arizona, beginning in 1863 and include examples of all types of photographic process; tintypes, glass lantern slides, and photographic postcards.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition 
 

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (EBSCO) 
 
 

1975 - present. Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science.

History Vault (ProQuest) 
 
 

Includes primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Provides access to letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, etc. from collections focused on the Viet Nam War and related Public Policy, and the Black Freedom struggle in the 20th century.

Home Textiles Today 
 

An online Cahners publication that provides links to textile-related sites, as well as news articles on the industry. It also gives sales information for many textile retailers.

Pages