Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "I"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Icelandic Photos 
 
 

Photographs by the acclaimed British artist, photographer and traveler Frederick W.W. Howell. landscapes, farmsteads, towns and people in a remarkable series of photographs from Iceland and the Faeroe Islands.

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature  
 
 

Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library 
 
 

1913 - present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards.

ILOSTAT 
 

International Labour Office data for over 200 countries or territories regarding labor and consumer prices. Previously Laborsta.

Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts 
 
 

Over 1 million historical images and texts from local history books, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life.

ImportGenius 
 
 

Search for import and export customs records for all cargo shipments entering U.S. ports. Records include customers, product lines, and exporting volumes for factories around the world. Users must create an account using their UC Merced email address.

InCites Essential Science Indicators (ESI) 
 
 

Contains rankings across 22 disciplines for authors, institutions, countries, and journals to help identify top researchers or institutions in specific fields. 

InCites Journal Citation Reports (JCR) 
 
 

Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR Web helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.

Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)  
 
 

(1951-2013) A collection of 800 newspapers and journals showcasing alternative press content from the special collections of various libraries.  Focused primarily from the 1960s-1980s, the materials were published by a wide variety of organizations including feminist, counterculture, LGBT and minority groups. 

Index Chemicus  
 
 

(1993 - present) Provides access to chemical compound information and research data, allowing scholars to analyze trends, and share their findings.Covers more than 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals, offering full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information.

Index Islamicus (ProQuest) 
 
 

1906-present. An extensive bibliography of materials written in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Coverage ranges broadly over the history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures of the Muslim world. Journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings and essays are indexed.

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO) 
 

Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century. Describes the entire journal contents including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
 

1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

India, Raj & Empire 
 

Drawing upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland this project provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India. Manuscripts include diaries, journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

InfoMat: The Largest Fashion Industry Search Engine 
 

Locates businesses related to the fashion industry. Categories include associations, buying offices, designer collections, dresses, eveningwear, notions & trim, sales reps, sportswear, textiles, and buyer-to-buyer exchanges.

InfoSECURITYnetBASE 
 
 

Established experts meet the challenges of information security, with a wealth of material exploring system analysis, server set-up, cryptography, cyber-crime, and other modern risks. The collection also includes the complete CISSP Exam Prep Book and other top certification aids.

INSPEC 
 
 

1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

INSPEC Archive 
 
 

1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

INSPIRE: High-Energy Physics Literature Database 
 

1974 - present. Indexes high-energy physics articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses. Links to citing papers for journal articles and preprints. SPIRES also provides citation counts for articles and preprints, as well as special reports on highly cited papers.

Institute of Development Studies (IDS) 
 

1990 - present. Lists books and articles on economic and social issues in developing countries.

Pages