Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "J"

Legend

Research Starting Points

J-STAGE: Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic 
 

A repository of academic journal articles and research papers created and maintained by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JSTA) with the majority available as open access content.

Jahrbuch Project Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics 
 

1868 - 1942. Consists of two parts: A literature database based on the European Mathematical Society's online version of Jahrbuch uber die Fortschritte der Mathematik and an archive of digitized mathematical publications at the Staats- und Universitatsbibliothek Gottingen.

Japanese Historical Maps 
 
 

The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains early maps of Japan and the world. The collection is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library.

Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946 
 

Provides open access to 29 newspaper in English, Japanese, or both, published by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers during World War II. Hosted by the Library of Congress.

JapanKnowledge Lib 
 

Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Toyo Bunko and Shukan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases.

John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images 
 
 

1492 - ca.1825. A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego.

JoVE Lab Index 
 

Searches scientists, institutions, and published research papers by specific discipline and ranks scientists by their contribution to the field.

JoVE, Journal of Visualized Experiments - Biology Module 
 
 

A peer reviewed scientific video journal, presenting scientific research in a visual format with video articles from research institutions around the world.

JSTOR 
 
 

Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.

JSTOR Global Plants 
 
 

A community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.