Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "L"

Legend

Research Starting Points

L'Annee philologique 
 
 

This database published by the Societe Internationale de Bibliographie Classique contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2008, with 12,500 new records added each year. 1,500 periodicals are analyzed each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract.

Laborsta  
 

Laborsta is now ILOSTAT.

LAMHDI 
 

LAMHDI (Link Animal Models to Human Disease) is now The Monarch Initiative.

Landolt-Bornstein Archives 
 
 

Data from all areas of physical science and engineering. Available on Portico platform. Click on E-BOOK TITLES (center tab) to see list of titles.

Latin American Data Base 
 
 

LADB is a news and information service on Latin America which produces three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex. Includes over 28,000 articles from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals.

Latin American Women Writers 
 
 

Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

Latino Literature 
 
 

Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.

Left Index (EBSCO) 
 
 

1982 - present. A guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship both inside and outside of academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

LexisNexis Academic 
 
 

Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

LGBT Life (EBSCO) 
 
 

An index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 200 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 360 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (EBSCO) 
 
 

1984 - present. Indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, library school theses, and over 300 books per year. Full text articles from over a hundred select publications, 1997-present.

Library of Congress International Collections 
 

Provides access to images from American Memory Historical Collections as well as international visual resource collections such as the Abdul Hamid II Collection (Ottoman Empire) and the Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire).

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog 
 

One of the largest digital image databases in the world, this database includes more than 1 million digital images of people, historical events, places, architecture, and more.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) 
 
 

This database indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google) 
 

Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive.

Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC) 
 
 

A consortium focused on acquiring, archiving, preserving and distributing linguistic corpora. View currently available data sets and instructions for accessing here.

LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest) 
 
 

A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.

Literature Resource Center (Gale) 
 
 

A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.

London Review of Books 
 
 

The London Review of Books is Europe’s leading literary magazine. Provides access to literary criticism as well as art and film reviews.

London Times  
 
 

1985 - present. Access provided through Newsbank or LexisNexis.

Pages