Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "M"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Making of America 
 

(1800-1935) A collection of approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles created by the University of Michigan and Cornell University documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. 

Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1947 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 100 journal titles. Subjects include strategic management, human resource development, labor economics and interpersonal communication.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries 
 
 

100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.

Maps of Africa 
 
 

Antiquarian maps of Africa from the collections of the late Dr. Oscar I. Norwich and the Stanford University Libraries, dating from the late 15th to early 20th century.

Mary Ann Liebert Journals 
 
 

Mary Ann Liebert journals, a publisher whose primary focus is in the areas of biomedical research and clinical medicine.

Masterfile Premier (EBSCO) 
 
 

Provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographics, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an image collection.

Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1994 - present. Over 5,000 articles from approximately 40 journal titles. Subjects include molecular modeling, natural polymer modification, and liposome stabilization.

MATHNetBASE 
 
 

A collection of 100+ math related titles by CRC Press.

MathSciNet 
 
 

1940 - present. Search Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. With links to electronic journals. Includes modeling & statistical methods in oceanography, climatology, ecology, etc.

MathSciNet (EBSCO) 
 
 

1940 - present. Provides access to abstracts and reviews of mathematical literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database via Ebscohost. Via Academic Search Complete, click Choose Databases and select MathSciNet via EBSCOhost.

MechanicalEngineeringnetBASE 
 
 

Includes award-winning handbooks and state-of-the-art references. Covers the entire field from fundamental theory to applications such as MEMS, pressure vessels, and pipelines. Key theories, data, models, equations, and guidelines are included.

MEDLINE (via ISI Web of Knowledge) 
 
 

1951 - present. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Includes references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text.

MEDLINE (via PubMed) 
 
 

1951 - present. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Includes references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Use the drop down menu to select PubMed only.  Use icons or UC-eLinks to link to full text.

Medline Plus 
 

Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.

Melvyl @ UC Merced 
 
 

Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display Merced resources listed first according to relevance.

Melvyl @ University of California 
 
 

Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond.

Merck Index Online 
 
 

Basic chemical, property and use information (with literature references) on nearly 11,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Searchable by name, registry number, etc., as well as by structure or substructure. Includes Organic Name Collections (concise descriptions and histories of 446 named reactions) and 60 pages of additional tables.

Middle Search Plus (EBSCO) 
 
 

Contains full text for nearly 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) 
 
 

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 military-related journals and periodicals.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) 
 
 

1926-present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Pages