Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "N"

Legend

Research Starting Points

NASA Astrophysics Data System 
 

Includes four sets of abstracts: astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos National Laboratory preprints.

NASA Image eXchange 
 

(NIX) Cross-database search of images from NASA. Also includes images from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, the Johnson Space Center, the Ames Research Center and others.

NASA Image Gallery 
 

Includes an image of the day (and over 700 archived images) and various other NASA multimedia resources, including podcasts, 3D resources, video, and more.

NASA On The Commons 
 

Over 1,000 images of significant historical interest scanned at high resolution in several sizes hosted on Flickr. The collection is intended for the media, publishers and the general public looking for high quality photographs.

National Academies Press 
 

Provides access to over 5,000 reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. Almost all of the PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) 
 

Consolidates data and research by US federal agencies and other organizations on the arts and culture. Searchable by study, subject, and publication, with online data analysis software provided for in depth research.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) 
 
 

Searchable online archive of downloadable economics working papers by the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).

National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf 
 

(NCBI) The Bookshelf contains searchable full-text biomedical books.

National Center for Early Development & Learning 
 

NCEDL is a national early childhood research project supported by the US Department of Education's Institute for Educational Sciences (IES), formerly the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). Administratively based at the FPG Child Development Institute, NCEDL is a collaboration with the University of Virginia & UCLA.

National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy 
 

(NCSALL) Previously a federally funded research and development center focused solely on adult learning, NCSALL's efforts were dedicated to improving practice in educational programs that served adults with limited literacy and English language skills. The research publications, Focus on Basics, training and teaching resources, and other materials continue to be available for download. 

National Conference of State Legislatures 
 
 

Founded in 1975, NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) 
 

Summaries of 160,000 criminal justice publications: books, articles and research reports; plus a collection of full text documents and links to web sites on all aspects of criminal justice.

National Criminal Justice Reference System Abstracts 
 

1970s - present. Summaries of U.S. criminal justice publications, including Federal, State and local government reports, books, journal articles, other research. NCBI

National Gallery of Art Images 
 

Includes over 25,000 open access digital images from the National Gallery of Art.

National Guideline Clearinghouse 
 

A compilation of clinical practice guidelines from multiple, authoritative sources. Guidelines are arranged by topic, disease/condition, treatment/intervention, or health-services administration, and are accompanied by summaries, syntheses, and expert commentaries.

National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP) 
 
 

1833 - present. Contains over 25 million entries from about 16 thousand newspapers and periodicals from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.

National Institute of Mental Health Statistics 
 

Includes an extensive collection of statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Also includes statistics on mental health-related disability and suicide.

National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online) 
 
 

Photo images and related description articles of all the collections exhibited in NPM Online are authorized by the National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan. "NPM Online" is a database application aimed at educational promotion and academic exchanges, which is available with versions of four languages, including traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English.

National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan 
 
 

Images of approximately 5,000 selected masterpieces from the Chinese imperial collection representing paintings, examples of calligraphy, rare books and manuscripts, sculpture, ceramics, metalwork, jades, decorative arts, and utilitarian objects, from prehistory (Xia dynasty) to the early 20th century.

National Population Census of China Database (English version) 
 
 

Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. Available in English and Chinese.

Pages