Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "O"

Legend

Research Starting Points

OAIster 
 
 

Searchable collection of working papers, preprints, reports, eprints and other "hard-to-find" documents from academic organizations around the world. Produced by the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.

OAPEN Library 
 

Provides access to quality controlled, open access academic books, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

OECD iLibrary 
 
 

Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories.

Office of Extramural Research: National Institutes of Health 
 

OER supports extramural research by providing policy and guidance to the 24 NIH Institutes and Centers that award grants.

Official Index to The Times 
 
 

1906 - 1980. See also Palmers Index to The Times, with Palmer's Full Text.

Online Archive of California 
 
 

A website providing free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (manuscripts, historic photos, etc.) maintained by libraries, archives, and museums throughout California.

Online Medieval and Classical Library 
 

(OMACL) Collection of some of the most important works of classical and medieval civilization.

Online Schools Directory 
 

A national directory of colleges, universities and technical schools that offer online educational options.

Open Book Publishers 
 
 

A collection of academic monographs and textbooks in all areas, including free online editions that can be read or downloaded by member libraries.

Open Library of the Humanities  
 

A collection of open access journals in the humanities developed by UK scholars and hosted on a Ubiquity Press open source platform at University College London.

Open Textbook Library 
 

Collection of openly licensed and freely available textbooks for higher education courses.

OpenJurist 
 

Open Jurist is a resource for access to the case law of the United States. This collection includes 647,000 opinions from the United States Supreme Court - beginning in 1754 when it was known as the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania; and the Federal Appellate Courts - beginning in 1880.

OpenVault: WGBH Media Library and Archives 
 

Content from public television station WHBH including video excerpts and transcripts.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 
 
 

Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.

Oxford Art Online 
 
 

Electronic version of the reference resource The Dictionary of Art plus extensive image links.

Oxford English Dictionary 
 
 

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

Oxford Handbooks Online - Literature 
 
 

A collection of over 50 Oxford handbooks whose essays explore and critique poetry, prose, verse, and drama produced in the British Isles and North America.

Oxford History of Western Music 
 
 

Includes the full text with notes, bibliographies and further readings as well as 500 illustrations, 1,800 musical examples & index from the 2009 print edition.

Oxford Music Online 
 
 

Contains over 29,000 articles and approximately 250,000 citations. Offers full-text searching capabilities as well as article browsing. Selected articles include links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations.

Oxford Reference Online 
 
 

Search over 250 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Pages