Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "P"

Legend

Research Starting Points

PAIS Index (ProQuest) 
 
 

Previously PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service). Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Papers First 
 
 

1993 - present. Records for papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, workshops, and congresses in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Physical and Life Sciences. To search by conference name use Proceedings.

PASCAL-FRANCIS 
 

Provides open access to the archive of PASCAL (1984-2015), a database of scientific literature with special emphasis on European content, and FRANCIS (1972-2015), a database of publications related to humanities and social sciences.  Produced by the by Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), available in French, English and Spanish.

Patrologia Latina 
 
 

The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.

Paul Getty Trust 
 

Find paintings, drawings, and photographs, in addition to manuscripts and decorative arts from the J. Paul Getty Trust. Includes over 4,600 digital images.

Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers 
 
 

1500 - 1700. Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (Proquest) 
 
 

1864-present. Indexes more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Previously International Index to Performing Arts Full Text.

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) 
 
 

(formerly PCI Full Text) An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
 
 

Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection 
 

Includes 11,000 map images scanned at the University of Texas including maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Additional links are provided to more maps sites.

Perseus Digital Library 
 
 

Database of images, Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies and English word searches of the texts.

Pew Hispanic Center 
 

Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest) 
 
 

1940-present. Indexing and abstracts from books and over 550 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.

PhilPapers 
 

A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Includes content from journals, books, open access archives and personal pages maintained by academics.

PhotoGraphicLibraries.com 
 

A directory for online images including stock images, clip art, photographic archives, and museums.

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) 
 
 

1871 - present. Citations on literature related to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues associated with traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Pivot 
 

Provides access to a comprehensive collection of funding sources for academic research. Pivot compiles pre-populated researcher profiles and matches them to current funding opportunities in the Community of Science database.

PLANTS Database (USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service) 
 

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Play Index (EBSCO) 
 
 

1949 - present. Citations to 31,000 plays. Includes monologues, plot summaries, cast sizes, male and female roles, etc. Search for plays by title; author; subject (culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more.

Playbill 
 

News, feature and performance listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, London and Regional Theatre.

Pages