Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "R"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Rand California 
 
 

Rand California, sponsored by the think-tank, RAND, is a subscription-based service on California and U.S. public policy with an emphasis on statistics.

Rand State Statistics 
 
 

Provides access to nearly 80 databases covering statistical data for all 50 United States. Find statistical information related to business and economics, education, health, population, and more.

Rare Books from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library 
 

Searchable and browsable database of rare botanical and gardening illustrations and text.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) 
 
 

1890 - 1982. Online version of Reader's Guide to Periodicals, index to general-interest U.S. magazines during the 20th Century.

Reaxys 
 

A database of chemical facts from 175 journals in organic chemistry, indexing three primary data domains: substances, reactions, and literature. Also includes organometallic and inorganic chemistry, covering literature from the year 1772 to today. Covers 1.6 million compounds, 1.3 million structures, 1.3 million reactions, and 900,000 citations, including titles and abstracts from 1995. Fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions.

RedALyc: Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal 
 

A collection of over 1,000 open access journals published in Latin America, Spain and Portugal with coverage spanning both the Humanities and Sciences.

Regional Business News (EBSCO) 
 
 

Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

REPEC: IDEAS 
 

Indexing and links to working papers in economics.

Review of Particle Physics Particle Data Group 
 

The PDG reviews the field of Particle Physics, and compiles and analyzes data on particle properties. The Review of Particle Physics is the most cited publication in particle physics during the last decade.

Rijks Studio 
 

The digital image collection of the Netherlands' state museum. Includes over 125,000 images and is still expanding.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) 
 
 

1967 - present. Comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, useful for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers.

RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) 
 
 

1703-1967. A bibliography of music articles, collections, and books published before 1967, containing more than 21,000 records in music research. Includes articles published in conference proceedings, Festschriften and anniversary volumes. Journal articles and other document types are added monthly. 

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (EBSCO) 
 
 

1800 - 1950. Contains article citations for over 84 journals covering music periodical literature. Includes information on musical history, composers and compositions to chronicle European and North American musical life. Primary and secondary sources are available including references to images, advertisements, and reviews.

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 (EBSCO) 
 
 

An index of music manuscripts. Includes more than 657,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries. Some graphical images from the opening words of early printed materials are included. RISM Composer, RISM Libraries Sigla, and RISM Bibliographic Citations Database also form part of the content.

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest 
 
 

Original archival materials documenting key issues and events from the period 1950 - 1975. Includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, ephemera, memorabilia and selected video footage.

Roper Center iPOLL 
 
 

A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.

Royal Society Publishing 
 

1665 - present. Access to the historical journal of the world’s oldest scientific academy, the Royal Society. Includes ~60,000 scientific papers permanently free to access online.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Ryland Collections 
 
 

Collection of images displays highlights spanning five millennia from the vast resources of the Special Collections Division of the John Rylands University Library.