Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "S"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Safari Tech Books Online 
 
 

A collection of reference content from IT publisher, O'Reilly & Associates. New titles are available online even before they appear in print.

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature 
 

1997 - present. Includes references for articles supporting and opposing same-sex marriage as well as information on related issues such as parenting and children, taxation, etc. Also includes references to books, symposia and legal information related to same-sex marriage.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials 
 
 

A reference source with data on approximately 26,000 substances. Used to evaluate the hazardous characteristics of substances. Information on toxicity, flammability, reactivity, and explosive potential is included.

SciELO online journals 
 

A collection of scholarly journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal covering science, medicine, the social sciences and humanities. Searchable by country of publication or subject area.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database 
 

Citations to articles, books, reviews and other materials about science fiction, fantasy and horror; includes both scholarly and fan writings. Covers all aspects except book reviews.

Science of Synthesis 
 
 

Critical collection of high-quality, relevant synthetic methods in organic and organometallic chemistry. Each one with full experimental procedures. Includes the Houben-Weyl backfiles, covering the literature to the mid-1800's. When complete, it will include 38,000 generally applicable experimental procedures, including 240,000 reactions and 800,000 structures.

Science Online 
 

Provided by AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science) a leading voice for the interests of scientists worldwide. Science Online is the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal.

Science Watch 
 

ScienceWatch.com (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science Indicators from Thomson Reuters. Provides an ideal, convenient location for keeping up with the latest developments in science.

Science.gov 
 

Searches over 60 databases and more than 2200 websites from 15 federal agencies, compiling 200 million pages of U.S. government science research and development results.

ScienceDirect/SciVerse 
 
 

(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.

Scientific American Archive, Supplement & Builders Archive Collection 
 
 

1845-2005. Provides access to 133,000 articles going back 160 years, covering historic breakthroughs in science, medicine, technology and architecture. 

An additional 2,500 issues from the Supplement and Builders publications can be accessed through the accompanying Supplement & Builders collections. To access, choose either link under the Issues: option.

SciFinder Scholar 
 

(From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account - register here.

SCIPIO Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs 
 
 

Contains descriptive records of sales catalogs (not the text of the catalogs themselves) for sales dating from the 16th century to the present, including upcoming scheduled sales.

SciTech connect 
 

Provides access to publicly-available Department of Energy R & D  technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.  A consolidation of the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database search engines.

Scottish Women Poets 
 
 

Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry by Scottish women poets, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.

Selected Magazine Sources (from Academic Search Complete) 
 
 

Selected magazine sources from Academic Search Complete recommended for research requiring magazine literature on a specific issue with differing points of view. The sources include Time, Economist, Atlantic Monthly, U.S. News & World Report and others. Note: May be appropriate for library research required for lower-division writing courses.

Selected Magazine Sources (from Business Source Complete) 
 
 

Select magazine sources from Business Source Complete that may be useful for research on marketing related topics and consumer demographics. The sources include Marketing Communication, Marketing Research, Marketing Week, Journal of Consumer Affairs and others. Note: May be appropriate for MGMT120.

Selected Political Science Sources (from Academic Search Complete) 
 
 

Selected political magazine and journals from Academic Search Complete. The sources include National Journal, Foreign Affairs, New Republic, Public Interest, Wall Street Journal and others. Note: May be appropriate for POLI 001.

Selected Science News Sources (from Academic Search Complete) 
 
 

Selected science news sources from Academic Search Complete. The sources include Scientific American, Discover, Newsweek, The Environmental Magazine and others. Note: May be appropriate for WRI 116.

Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database 
 

1872 - 1949. Shen Bao was the first major newspaper in China. Coverage from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic Era. A primary e-resource for modern Chinese studies. Chinese language only.

Pages