Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases Beginning with "W"

Legend

Research Starting Points

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) 
 
 

1984-present. WSJ is the world’s leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Walter Scott Digital Archive 
 
 

A "webliography" of over 300 electronic texts of works by the Scottish novelist and poet Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), author of Ivanhoe and the Waverley novels. At the same site there is biographical information about Scott, a bibliography of recent critical publications, forthcoming events relating to Scott, a bibliography of his works, and links to other relevant sites.

Wanfang Data 
 

Wanfang Data provides access to data relating to culture, medicine, business, science, and more. Includes access to the following collections only: Policies and Laws of China, Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China, China Academic Conference Proceedings, China Online Journals.

Washington State Coastal Atlas 
 

Photos of Washington State's shoreline from the air. Searchable by city, county, or landmark.

Web of Science 
 
 

Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).

Western Waters Digital Library 
 

Provides access to significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) 
 

WRDS provides access to historical financial, marketing, and economics data. This data includes company information, security prices & trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices & interest rates, mutual fund & stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series, global data, plus marketing & industry reports. Compustat from Capital IQ is also accessible through UC Merced's subscription to WRDS.

Access to this resources is strictly limited to UC Merced faculty and graduate students. Each individual must obtain an individual login and password by visiting WRDS and selecting the Register tab. Once a Registration request is received, it will be reviewed to ensure it meets WRDS's subscription license requirements before access is made available. For information regarding use of this resource, visit the WRDS site or contact Professor Paul Maglio.

Note: In order to use Wharton with an undergraduate class, the faculty member mustdirectly communicate with WRDS to obtain access.

WhoPlus 
 
 

A database of biographical information on thousands of prominent people in Japan.  

Wikipedia: Featured Pictures 
 

Includes over 3,500 of Wikipedia’s most impressive and informative photos, categorized by topic.

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection 
 
 

2011 frontlist titles only. Includes 950+ online books with 2011 publication dates. Subject areas include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Titles continually added through 2011 as they are published.

Wolfram Alpha 
 

Wolfram Alpha is an online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from structured data. Searches hundreds of datasets and many external sources.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 
 
 

1600 - 2000. Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Women's Studies International (EBSCO) 
 
 

1972 - present. Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies and feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

World Bank -- Documents & Reports 
 
 

Over 15,000 documents, previously known as World Development Sources (WDS), including information on Country Economic & Sector work; Project Documents plus Research & Working Papers.

World Bank Atlas of Global Development 
 

An interactive tool that maps and graphs more than 175 indicators from the World Bank development database. Issues such as poverty, food production, international trade, etc. are covered. Provides visual comparisons of data across time, countries, and regions. Maps and graphs can be exported.

World Bank e-Library 
 
 

A portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents including World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers on development related issues. Offers advanced search capabilities, for example, limits by subject area or region. Full-text of all documents available in pdf.

World Bank Open Data 
 
 

1970 - 2009. Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from for most reporting countries.

World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators 
 

World Bank provides global statistical data in support of research and the understanding of global issues.

World Development Indicators (WDI Online) 
 
 

1960 - present.WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).

World Digital Library 
 

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

Pages