Skip to content Skip to navigation

Databases: Recommended

Legend

Research Starting Points

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 
 
 

1920-present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

ACM Digital Library 
 
 

Allows searching of articles from publications of the Association for Computing Machinery by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Over 22,000 articles have displayable full-text available.

America: History & Life (EBSCO) 
 
 

This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) 
 
 

19th century - present.Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

AnthroSource 
 
 

A research tool for anthropological scholarship developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Includes peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins.

Art Full Text (EBSCO) 
 
 

Art Full Text is now Art & Architecture Source.

ARTstor 
 
 

ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.

ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) 
 
 

1990 - present. A collection of materials from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including ASME's 23 Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present (full-text) and Conference Proceedings (citations) from 2002 to the present.

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes (ProQuest) 
 
 

Provides access to abstracts of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals.

BIOSIS Previews via Web of Knowledge 
 
 

1926 - present.The largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals, books, conferences and patents.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research reports, SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.

COMPENDEX PLUS 
 
 

1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
 
 

Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

EconLit (ProQuest) 
 
 

1969-present.Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.

Education Source (EBSCO) 
 
 

Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest) 
 
 

1966-present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) 
 
 

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use American History and Life.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library 
 
 

1913 - present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards.

INSPEC 
 
 

1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Pages