Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: News and Current Events

Legend

Research Starting Points

60 MINUTES: 1997-2014 
 
 

An online collection through Alexander Street providing 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else. This resource also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export feature.

Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest) 
 
 

*Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Factiva Access 
 
 

Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.

LexisNexis Academic 
 
 

Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

London Times  
 
 

1985 - present. Access provided through Newsbank or LexisNexis.

London Times Digital Archive 
 
 

1785 - 2006. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) 
 
 

1985-present. LA Times news stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

New York Times (ProQuest) 
 
 

1980-present. Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

NewsBank: Special Reports 
 
 

NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) 
 
 

1984-present. WSJ is the world’s leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.