Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Art

Legend

Research Starting Points

Apabi Digital Library Image Database 
 
 

Images of Chinese art works from museums in China and around the world. Includes artworks in calligraphy, folk art, communism-related art, excavated art objects, book illustrations, clothing and decoration.

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) 
 
 

Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Previously Art Source (EBSCO).

Art History Resources on the Web 
 

Links to extensive resources for the study of art history.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)  
 
 

1974-present. Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition review on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960's.

Artcyclopedia 
 

Search for artists whose works are included in museum sites, image archives and other online resources.

ARTINFO Gallery Guide 
 

Comprehensive source of gallery and museum exhibitions nationwide.

ARTstor 
 
 

ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.

Calisphere 
 

A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection 
 
 

Created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project, the Claire Holt Papers comprise approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia and typescript notes about a trip to Indonesia in 1955-1956.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Duke Digital Collections 
 

Digital image collection held by Duke University Libraries or other organizations affiliated with Duke University. Includes collections such as the William Gedney Photographs and Writings, Historic American Sheet Music and the Emergence of Advertising in America.

Estate Project for Artists with AIDS 
 
 

Initiated by the Alliance for the Arts, the Estate Project for Artists with Aids seeks to preserve the cultural legacy of the AIDS crisis so that future generations can enjoy, study and engage artworks as aesthetic achievements and historical documents.

Europeana Art 
 

Bring together over one million paintings, drawings, prints and other artworks from across Europe. Searchable by media type, providing country, and language.

Farber Gravestone Collection 
 
 

The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource containing over 13,500 images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800, in the Northeastern part of the United States.

Getty Research Library 
 

Includes the Art & Architecture Thesaurus, the Getty Provenance Index and the Photo Study Collection.

Hartill Collection 
 
 

The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (primarily architecture).The Hartill Collection includes works from major periods, and monuments such as the Great Pyramids at Giza, Stonehenge, and the Viet Nam War Memorial. Covers the architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity through the present, and from the Middle East to the Americas. Includes thousands of details of architectural decoration, mosaics, sculpture and stained glass, as well as related decorative arts and public sculpture. Exceptionally strong in European medieval architecture and sculpture of the Romanesque and Gothic periods; additionally, modern architecture and sculpture are both especially well represented.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History 
 

Combines 300 chronologies, close to 1000 essays, and over 7000 works of art to create a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history through The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Hoover Institution Poster Collection 
 
 

Features posters from around the world. The largest number are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Russian empire and the Soviet Union, and France.

Pages