Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Economics

Legend

Research Starting Points

AgEcon Search 
 

AgEcon Search is an open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics that includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.

American FactFinder 
 

A source for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

ArticleFirst 
 
 

1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Awesome Public Datasets  
 

A list of high-quality open datasets organized into broad subject areas, covering biology, economics, medicine, the social sciences and more.

California Quick Facts 
 

Census links to California data from 2010 census population data, the latest Economic Census, County Business Patterns and other reports.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets 
 
 

Provides access to data from government and public domain statistical producing agencies, comprising 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets sourced from more than 70 source organizations. Users can chart, map, and compare 10 million time series at the county, MSA, state and national levels. Includes access to EASI Market Planner.

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference  
 
 

Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.

E-STAT (Statistics Canada | Statistique Canada) 
 

Economic, political, and social data covering Canada and its provinces with select data, 1665 - 2011.

EconLit (ProQuest) 
 
 

1969-present.Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.

Economic Data: Federal Reserve Bank 
 

Thousands of time series of regional and national financial and economic data, downloadable in spreadsheet or text formats.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) 
 
 

The Economist Intelligence Unit is the world's foremost provider of country, industry and management analysis. EIU includes monthly reports on each country with a focus on political and economic information including the future outlook for each country.

EDGAR 
 

U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission filings.

Eurostat 
 
 

Eurostat provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Useful data for governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and researchers.

Factiva Access 
 
 

Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.

FAOStat 
 

Note: Registration is free but required. Downloads are limited to 4,000 records at a time. International statistics on production, trade, food balances, forestry, land use, irrigation, fertilizer, pesticides, agriculture, food aid, and fisheries.

Federal Digital System (FDSYS) 
 

Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Includes presidential documents, congressional bills and reports, economic indicators, federal register, public and private laws and more. The new beta version is also available at govinfo.

Global Financial Data 
 
 

Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for more than 200 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedia that describes the database.

globalEDGE 
 

Provides in depth information and data for research and teaching International Business courses. Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University.

Pages