Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Education

Legend

Research Starting Points

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Chronicle of Higher Education 
 
 

A news source for academia, it includes information on jobs for college and university faculty and administration.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

EdStats 
 
 

EdStats collects worldwide data on education from national statistical reports, statistical annexes of new publications, and other data sources.

Education Index Retrospective (EBSCO) 
 
 

1929 - 1983.Indexing of over 500 English-language periodicals covering topics such as distance learning, parent-teacher relations, vocational education, and teaching methods.

Education News 
 

Covers U.S. and world media publications, commentaries and reports for K-12 and Higher Education. Includes views on education issues from all sides of the political spectrum.

Education Source (EBSCO) 
 
 

Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1968 - present. Full-text of peer-reviewed journals on education topics including diversity, teaching methods, leadership, and testing.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest) 
 
 

1966-present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
 
 

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Left Index (EBSCO) 
 
 

1982 - present. A guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship both inside and outside of academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (EBSCO) 
 
 

1984 - present. Indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, library school theses, and over 300 books per year. Full text articles from over a hundred select publications, 1997-present.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) 
 
 

This database indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Middle Search Plus (EBSCO) 
 
 

Contains full text for nearly 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.

National Center for Early Development & Learning 
 

NCEDL is a national early childhood research project supported by the US Department of Education's Institute for Educational Sciences (IES), formerly the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). Administratively based at the FPG Child Development Institute, NCEDL is a collaboration with the University of Virginia & UCLA.

National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy 
 

(NCSALL) Previously a federally funded research and development center focused solely on adult learning, NCSALL's efforts were dedicated to improving practice in educational programs that served adults with limited literacy and English language skills. The research publications, Focus on Basics, training and teaching resources, and other materials continue to be available for download. 

Newsbank: Access World News 
 
 

Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

Online Schools Directory 
 

A national directory of colleges, universities and technical schools that offer online educational options.

Open Textbook Library 
 

Collection of openly licensed and freely available textbooks for higher education courses.

Primary Search (EBSCO) 
 
 

Provides full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. Also provides the Encyclopedia of Animals, New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps and flags.

Pages