Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Film

Legend

Research Starting Points

American Film Institute Catalog 
 
 

A comprehensive and detailed national filmography, the AFI Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United States from 1892 to 1971, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records. Offers authoritative plot summaries and insider production notes, as well as subject and song indexing for each film record.

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
 
 

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases is now The Arts.

Box Office Guru 
 

Compiles box office data on films released since 1989, updated weekly using data from Variety. The site also includes upcoming releases and a list of the all-time top-grossing motion pictures.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals 
 
 

 Offers in-depth coverage of academic and popular film journals. The database also contains Treasures from Film Archives, an index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.

Film Index International 
 
 

Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, Film Index International indexes entertainment films from over 170 countries. Includes information on films, personalities and scholarly works related to film studies.

Film Literature Index 
 

1976 - 2001. Includes 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.

Filmakers Library Online 
 
 

Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum. Presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest) 
 
 

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text is now Performing Arts Database.

Internet Movie Database (IMDb) 
 

Reviews, plot summaries, cast information; television too: over 200,000 movie and TV titles are covered.

London Review of Books 
 
 

The London Review of Books is Europe’s leading literary magazine. Provides access to literary criticism as well as art and film reviews.

Performing Arts Database (Proquest) 
 
 

1864-present. Indexes more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

The Arts (Proquest) 
 
 

Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.