Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Law

Legend

Research Starting Points

18th Century Collections Online (Gale) 
 
 

Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Congressional Budget Office Mandate Search 
 

Provides a search tool for intergovernmental and private-sector mandates identified in bills and public laws. Searchable by keywords and filters such as budget functions and costs relative to the statutory thresholds.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
 
 

Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Magazine 
 
 

Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
 
 

Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher 
 
 

CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Federal Digital System (FDSYS) 
 

Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Includes presidential documents, congressional bills and reports, economic indicators, federal register, public and private laws and more. The new beta version is also available at govinfo.

GPO Access (US Government) 
 

Locate online versions of major U.S. government publications such as: the Congressional Record, bills, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, and executive branch documents.

LexisNexis Academic 
 
 

Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

OpenJurist 
 

Open Jurist is a resource for access to the case law of the United States. This collection includes 647,000 opinions from the United States Supreme Court - beginning in 1754 when it was known as the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania; and the Federal Appellate Courts - beginning in 1880.

PAIS Index (ProQuest) 
 
 

Previously PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service). Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse more than 40 sub categories including State Laws, Regulations, Foreign Laws, etc.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature 
 

1997 - present. Includes references for articles supporting and opposing same-sex marriage as well as information on related issues such as parenting and children, taxation, etc. Also includes references to books, symposia and legal information related to same-sex marriage.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law 
 

Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the US and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Includes statutes from every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject. From HeinOnline.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
 
 

SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Pages