Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Literature

Legend

Research Starting Points

18th Century Collections Online (Gale) 
 
 

Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 
 
 

1920-present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.

African Writers Series 
 
 

The Heinemann's African Writers Series includes seminal works from the canon of African literature of the 20th century: influential stories, drama, poetry, author biographies and literary works from notable authors such as Nelson Mandela and Nadine Gordimer.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
 
 

Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) 
 
 

Access to literary texts including dictionaries and reference works.

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
 
 

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases is now The Arts.

Based on the Book 
 

A database of selected books that have been made into movies.

Bibliography of American Literature 
 
 

BAL - Nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930.

Black Women Writers 
 
 

Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Caribbean Literature 
 
 

When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
 

CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) 
 
 

1475 - 1700.Full text and page images of books from English language titles. Search by subject, title, author. Contains over 100,000 titles. Includes works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

Explore the British Library 
 

Search, view and order items from the British Library's collection of nearly 57 million records.

Gale Artemis Literary Sources 
 
 

Brings together Gale’s Literature Resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online. Includes workflow tools and features such as term frequency graphs and topic finder to further enhance research.

German Literary Expressionism Online (Der literarische Expressionismus Online) 
 
 

1910-1930. 150 journals, yearbooks, anthologies and collections from the early 20th century, providing a unique body of text for research of the German expressionist movement.

Gujin Tushu Jicheng 
 
 

The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China. Includes most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty.

Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)  
 
 

(1951-2013) A collection of 800 newspapers and journals showcasing alternative press content from the special collections of various libraries.  Focused primarily from the 1960s-1980s, the materials were published by a wide variety of organizations including feminist, counterculture, LGBT and minority groups. 

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
 

1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Pages