Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Music

Legend

Research Starting Points

All Music Guide 
 

A large, informative site covering multiple styles of music (rap, rock, classical, country, etc.).

British Library Archival Sound Recordings 
 

The British Library holds one of the world's foremost sound archives with a collection of over 3.5 million audio recordings. These recordings cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project 
 

The earliest method of recording and reproducing sound was on phonograph cylinders. UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections.

Europeana Music 
 

Brings together close to 400,000 music recordings, sheet music, and other music related collections from Europe's audio-visual archives, libraries, archives and museums. Searchable by media type, providing country, and language.

Free Sheet Music 
 

Download sheet music, music lessons and musical tips for instruments and musical styles.

Grove Music Online 
 
 

A leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001. Includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.

Lyrics World 
 

Search for the lyrics of your favorite songs.

Music & Performing Arts 
 
 

Cross-search hundreds of thousands of audio tracks, scores, and reference works across many Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound. 

Music Online: African American Music Reference 
 
 

This database chronicles the history of music by African Americans over time, including links to external web resources, streaming audio tracks and musical scores. From Alexander Street Press.

Music Online: American Music 
 
 

A streaming music database which captures America's past through a variety of genres. Includes many artists addressing a range of social issues and historical events. From Alexander Street Press.

Music Online: Classical Music Library 
 
 

This is an electronic database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. User may also use the databases option to create playlists and themes. From Alexander Street Press.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music 
 
 

Contemporary World Music contains 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. From Alexander Street Press.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library 
 
 

Contains jazz recordings from its beginnings to today, covering thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres from all over the world.  A collection from Alexander Street Press.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries 
 
 

This is an electronic database of approximately 35,000 tracks of world music and sound recordings from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, with audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music 
 
 

The full text of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, additional text related to world music, audio examples and links to streaming audio tracks. From Alexander Street Press.

Music Periodicals Database (Proquest) 
 
 

1874-present. Provides indexes, abstracts and selected full text for hundreds of music journals covering research on topics such as performance, theory, composition, music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Includes scholarly and popular materials.  Previously International Index to Music Periodical Full Text.

Naxos Music Library (NML) 
 
 

Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the new iPhone / iPod Touch App subscribers can also access the service on the go.

Naxos Music Library Jazz 
 
 

Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4  
 
 

Access to collections of primary sources from Asia and the West. Includes Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theater, Music, and Literature.

Oxford History of Western Music 
 
 

Includes the full text with notes, bibliographies and further readings as well as 500 illustrations, 1,800 musical examples & index from the 2009 print edition.

Pages