Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Philosophy

Legend

Research Starting Points

Acta Sanctorum 
 
 

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete texts of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum, published in Antwerp and Brussels, from 1643-1940. Includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
 

CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Left Index (EBSCO) 
 
 

1982 - present. A guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship both inside and outside of academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest) 
 
 

1940-present. Indexing and abstracts from books and over 550 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.

PhilPapers 
 

A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Includes content from journals, books, open access archives and personal pages maintained by academics.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
 
 

SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
 
 

Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy 
 

An Open Access reference work refereed by a distinguished editorial board.