Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Sociology

Legend

Research Starting Points

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
 
 

1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO) 
 
 

1969 - 1990. Archives of Alternative Press Index. Includes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 
 

Provides access to county-by-county data related to factors that influence health: smoking, obesity, poverty, access to health care, etc. Compiled by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) 
 
 

1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.

GenderWatch (ProQuest) 
 
 

1970s-present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.

HighWire  
 

Provides access to the online archive of free full-text articles from journals published with HighWire Press. Content concentrates primarily in the fields of biology, medicine, health sciences, psychology and sociology. 

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
 
 

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences 
 
 

Provides access to over 3,900 articles and 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes in the behavioral and social sciences fields.

National Population Census of China Database (English version) 
 
 

Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. Available in English and Chinese.

Population Index (on JSTOR) 
 
 

1937 - 1999. Annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population studies.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature 
 

1997 - present. Includes references for articles supporting and opposing same-sex marriage as well as information on related issues such as parenting and children, taxation, etc. Also includes references to books, symposia and legal information related to same-sex marriage.

Social Explorer 
 

1790 - present. Includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States for demographic research. Allows users to make maps and reports.

Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) 
 

(Prototype) Sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities, SNAC helps users discover, locate and use distributed historical records. Still in development, SNAC aims to provide researchers with socio-historical contexts in which records were created.Search by name, subject, or occupation.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
 
 

SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
 
 

Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.

Social Theory 
 
 

Provides comprehensive coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 
 
 

1952-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Pages