Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Biology

Legend

Research Starting Points

Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog 
 

Search the National Agricultural Library Catalog and Article Citation Database or browse by subject. Topics covered include agriculture, agronomy, animal science, aquaculture, biology, botany, breeding, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, environment, fertilizers, pesticides, food agriculture, forestry, and horticulture.

arXiv.org 
 
 

e-Print archive Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science. Formerly the Los Alamos National Laboratory Eprint Archive, and also known as "xxx.lanl.gov," the main site hardware operations were transferred from Los Alamos to the Cornell University Library site in December 2001.

ASABE Technical Library 
 
 

Provides access to the journals, conference proceedings, distinguished lecture series and other publications from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. 

Awesome Public Datasets  
 

A list of high-quality open datasets organized into broad subject areas, covering biology, economics, medicine, the social sciences and more.

BIODIDAC 
 

This site contains hundreds of images organized into three sections covering Zoology, Botany, and Histology. All images can be used for non-commercial purposes.

Biodiversity Heritage Library 
 

A sizable collection of digitized, open access books and journals on biodiversity created by a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries.  Searchable by title, author, subject, publication date, collection or contributing library.

BioMed Central 
 

BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes (ProQuest) 
 
 

Provides access to abstracts of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals.

BioOne Complete 
 
 

A collection from BioOne of 200+ high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Biosis Citation Index 
 
 

1926 - present. Supports access, research and discovery in the life sciences. Indexes 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records. Includes conference proceedings, books and patents. Biosis Previews are included in Biosis Citation Index.

BIOSIS Previews via Web of Knowledge 
 
 

1926 - present.The largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals, books, conferences and patents.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collections 1, 2 and 3 
 
 

A collection of over 100 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field. Through Morgan & Claypool Publishers.

Comprehensive Physiology (Wiley) 
 
 

An authoritative collection of review content in the physiological sciences. Includes the landmark series Handbook of Physiology. Continually updated and expanded.

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
 
 

Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

EPrint Network 
 

Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

F1000Prime 
 
 

Identifies important articles in biology and medical research publications, selected by a global 'Faculty' of more than 8,000 scientists and clinicians. Their recommendations form a fully searchable database containing more than 100,000 records. Previously Faculty of 1000: Biology Reports.

F1000Research 
 
 

An open research publishing platform for life scientists offering immediate publication of articles, posters and slides. Access to F1000 Faculty Reviews, open access reviews providing extensive coverage of the life sciences is also included.

Pages