Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Geology


Research Starting Points

GeoRef* (ProQuest) 

*Includes GeoRef in Process. 1963-present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.


1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

INSPEC Archive 

1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

New EarthExplorer 

Search and download Global Land Survey data in the USGS archive.

SciFinder Scholar 

(From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account - register here.

USGS (United States Geological Survey) Map Locator & Downloader 

View and download satellite, hybrid and topographic maps. Downloads require the GeoPDF Toolbar.

USGS Topographic Maps of California 

Online directory of sites providing online images of California topographic maps.