Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Medicine

Legend

Research Starting Points

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality  
 

Provides access to practical health care information, research findings, and medical data to help consumers, health providers, researchers, and policymakers make informed decisions about health care issues. Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

American Medical Association (AMA) Manual of Style 
 
 

Everything you need to produce well-organized, clear, and readable manuscripts in AMA format.

Annual Reviews 
 
 

A collection of over 30 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.

ArticleFirst 
 
 

1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Awesome Public Datasets  
 

A list of high-quality open datasets organized into broad subject areas, covering biology, economics, medicine, the social sciences and more.

Bioline International 
 

A collection of peer-reviewed, open access journals published in developing countries focusing on public health, international development, food and nutritional security, tropical medicine and biodiversity.

BioMed Central 
 

BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

California Health Interview Survey 
 

CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
 

Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Cochrane Summaries 
 

Contains research summaries on medicine and health from 37,000 contributors in an effort to provide credible, accessible health information that is free from commercial sponsorship and other conflicts of interest.

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collections 1, 2 and 3 
 
 

A collection of over 100 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field. Through Morgan & Claypool Publishers.

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
 
 

Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

EPrint Network 
 

Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

F1000Prime 
 
 

Identifies important articles in biology and medical research publications, selected by a global 'Faculty' of more than 8,000 scientists and clinicians. Their recommendations form a fully searchable database containing more than 100,000 records. Previously Faculty of 1000: Biology Reports.

F1000Research 
 
 

An open research publishing platform for life scientists offering immediate publication of articles, posters and slides. Access to F1000 Faculty Reviews, open access reviews providing extensive coverage of the life sciences is also included.

F1000Workspace 
 
 

A free suite of tools to help with writing, collaborating, reference management and preparation for publishing within the life sciences.

GeneCards: The Human Gene Database 
 

Mines and compiles gene-centric data from over 125 web sources. Maintained in the Crown Human Genome Center at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, GeneCards aims to integrate information scattered over a variety of specialized databases into a coherent picture.

HighWire  
 

Provides access to the online archive of free full-text articles from journals published with HighWire Press. Content concentrates primarily in the fields of biology, medicine, health sciences, psychology and sociology. 

Pages