Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Physics

Legend

Research Starting Points

AIP Scitation 
 
 

Provides online access to a robust collection of close to 1 million articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and AIPP's publishing partners.

arXiv.org 
 
 

e-Print archive Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science. Formerly the Los Alamos National Laboratory Eprint Archive, and also known as "xxx.lanl.gov," the main site hardware operations were transferred from Los Alamos to the Cornell University Library site in December 2001.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 
 
 

Contains the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Part of the CHEMnetBASE collection.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

EPrint Network 
 

Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

INSPEC 
 
 

1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

INSPEC Archive 
 
 

1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

INSPIRE: High-Energy Physics Literature Database 
 

1974 - present. Indexes high-energy physics articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses. Links to citing papers for journal articles and preprints. SPIRES also provides citation counts for articles and preprints, as well as special reports on highly cited papers.

Landolt-Bornstein Archives 
 
 

Data from all areas of physical science and engineering. Available on Portico platform. Click on E-BOOK TITLES (center tab) to see list of titles.

NASA Astrophysics Data System 
 

Includes four sets of abstracts: astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos National Laboratory preprints.

Net Advance of Physics 
 

Offers an A-Z topics index and a hierarchical index of Web links to free physics review articles and tutorials and physics internet sites.

Review of Particle Physics Particle Data Group 
 

The PDG reviews the field of Particle Physics, and compiles and analyzes data on particle properties. The Review of Particle Physics is the most cited publication in particle physics during the last decade.

Scientific American Archive, Supplement & Builders Archive Collection 
 
 

1845-2005. Provides access to 133,000 articles going back 160 years, covering historic breakthroughs in science, medicine, technology and architecture. 

An additional 2,500 issues from the Supplement and Builders publications can be accessed through the accompanying Supplement & Builders collections. To access, choose either link under the Issues: option.

SciFinder Scholar 
 

(From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account - register here.

SIAM e-books 
 

Approximately 400 SIAM books published over the past five decades. Titles cover a wide range of applied mathematics and computational science subject areas.

SPIE Digital Library 
 
 

1990 - present. Contains full-text technical papers on optics and photonics from SPIE (The International Society for Optical Engineering). Includes journals and proceedings.

Taylor & Francis online journals  
 
 

Provides online access to journals published by Taylor & Francis, with over 3200 titles covering a wide array of subject areas.

Web of Science 
 
 

Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).

Wolfram Alpha 
 

Wolfram Alpha is an online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from structured data. Searches hundreds of datasets and many external sources.