Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Social Sciences (General)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) – Trial Access 
 
 

Contains expanded access to academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in a broad array of disciplines via EBSCOhost. Both English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America are included. Available on a two month UC-wide trial.

ACLS Humanities e-Book 
 

A collection of 1,700 plus full-text titles focused on the humanities. Unlimited multi-user access.

American Doctoral Dissertations (EBSCO)  
 

(1902-present) Includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations with links to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.

Annual Reviews 
 
 

A collection of over 30 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.

ArticleFirst 
 
 

1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

AuthorMapper 
 

A search tool from Springer to discern trends, patterns and subject experts in scientific fields. The site searches over 3 million Springer journal articles. Users can search using keyword, discipline, institution, journal and author. Results are displayed in charts, a timeline graph, and a map.

Awesome Public Datasets  
 

A list of high-quality open datasets organized into broad subject areas, covering biology, economics, medicine, the social sciences and more.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
 

BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
 

CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Center for Security Studies (CSS) 
 

Open access information for international relations and security professionals. Resources portion of the site includes 75,000+ digital library, datasets, graphics and roster of 2,700 IR and security-focused organizations.

Communication & Media Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1982 - present.A collection of full-text articles from approximately 60 journals covering subjects such as mass communication, journalism and public opinion.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities 
 
 

1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher 
 
 

CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
 
 

EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.

Ebrary 
 
 

A eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.

Eigenfactor 
 

This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
 

A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Pages