Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Business (General)

Legend

Research Starting Points

American FactFinder 
 

A source for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

ArticleFirst 
 
 

1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Business Expert Press 
 
 

Searchable collection of business-related ebooks created by experts for non-experts. Subject areas include marketing, human resource management, entrepreneurship, small business management, public relations, consumer behavior, business ethics and more.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research reports, SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.

California Quick Facts 
 

Census links to California data from 2010 census population data, the latest Economic Census, County Business Patterns and other reports.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets 
 
 

Provides access to data from government and public domain statistical producing agencies, comprising 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets sourced from more than 70 source organizations. Users can chart, map, and compare 10 million time series at the county, MSA, state and national levels. Includes access to EASI Market Planner.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

esp@cenet (European Patent Office) 
 

Freely available worldwide patent search from the European Patent Office.

Factiva Access 
 
 

Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.

Global Financial Data 
 
 

Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for more than 200 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedia that describes the database.

Global Road Warrior 
 
 

Information on culture, communications, travel, business and maps for 175 countries and territories.

globalEDGE 
 

Provides in depth information and data for research and teaching International Business courses. Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University.

ILOSTAT 
 

International Labour Office data for over 200 countries or territories regarding labor and consumer prices. Previously Laborsta.

ImportGenius 
 
 

Search for import and export customs records for all cargo shipments entering U.S. ports. Records include customers, product lines, and exporting volumes for factories around the world. Users must create an account using their UC Merced email address.

International Monetary Fund 
 

The primary purpose of the IMF is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system. The IMF website includes data and statistics, country information, news and events, publications, reports and more.

LexisNexis Academic 
 
 

Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

Melvyl @ UC Merced 
 
 

Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display Merced resources listed first according to relevance.

Melvyl @ University of California 
 
 

Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond.

Pages