Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Business (Company and Industry)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Business Expert Press 
 
 

Searchable collection of business-related ebooks created by experts for non-experts. Subject areas include marketing, human resource management, entrepreneurship, small business management, public relations, consumer behavior, business ethics and more.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research reports, SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.

Chinese companies and products (CECDB) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse by industry. Information on company profiles, products, capitals, revenues, profits, contact details, web sites, and more is updated on a regular basis. Translations to English are available in most browsers. Also known as the Chinese Enterprises and Companies DataBase.

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference  
 
 

Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.

Factiva Access 
 
 

Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.

ImportGenius 
 
 

Search for import and export customs records for all cargo shipments entering U.S. ports. Records include customers, product lines, and exporting volumes for factories around the world. Users must create an account using their UC Merced email address.

LexisNexis Academic 
 
 

Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

Selected Magazine Sources (from Business Source Complete) 
 
 

Select magazine sources from Business Source Complete that may be useful for research on marketing related topics and consumer demographics. The sources include Marketing Communication, Marketing Research, Marketing Week, Journal of Consumer Affairs and others. Note: May be appropriate for MGMT120.

Statista 
 
 

Integrates data on 60,000+ topics from into charts, graphs and infographics that can be reused without licensing restrictions. Categorized into 21 market sectors, provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets. Resource is well-suited to undergraduates in need of quick authoritative statistics.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
 
 

Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Statistical Abstracts of the World (Proquest) 
 
 

Provides in depth access to statistics on social, political, and economic conditions around the world.

ThomasNet 
 

Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers in the U.S. and Canada. Entries include a basic company profile plus company Web site links, product catalogs, and CAD (Computer Aided Design) drawings.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) 
 

WRDS provides access to historical financial, marketing, and economics data. This data includes company information, security prices & trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices & interest rates, mutual fund & stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series, global data, plus marketing & industry reports. Compustat from Capital IQ is also accessible through UC Merced's subscription to WRDS.

Access to this resources is strictly limited to UC Merced faculty and graduate students. Each individual must obtain an individual login and password by visiting WRDS and selecting the Register tab. Once a Registration request is received, it will be reviewed to ensure it meets WRDS's subscription license requirements before access is made available. For information regarding use of this resource, visit the WRDS site or contact Professor Paul Maglio.

Note: In order to use Wharton with an undergraduate class, the faculty member mustdirectly communicate with WRDS to obtain access.