Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Political Science

Legend

Research Starting Points

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
 
 

1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO) 
 
 

1969 - 1990. Archives of Alternative Press Index. Includes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

American FactFinder 
 

A source for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
 
 

Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

AUL Index to Military Periodicals 
 

1990 - present.Specialized index to articles on military, defense, and national security issues. Global scope, including Latin America, Europe, and Asia. Compiled by Air University Library.

C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index 
 
 

A source for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Draws on established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Center for Security Studies (CSS) 
 

Open access information for international relations and security professionals. Resources portion of the site includes 75,000+ digital library, datasets, graphics and roster of 2,700 IR and security-focused organizations.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 
 
 

Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.

Congress.gov 
 

Provides access to legislative information from the Library of Congress. Includes bills, resolutions, schedules, calendars, committee information, activity in Congress, and more. Previously THOMAS.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest) 
 
 

1789-present. Access to comprehensive collection of Congressional publications including: committee information; committee hearings; committee prints and miscellaneous congressional publications; committee reports; congressional records; congressional rules; House and Senate documents; Senate executive documents and reports, laws, and bills; legislative histories; campaign financial data; key votes and roll calls.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
 
 

Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Magazine 
 
 

Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
 
 

Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher 
 
 

CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference  
 
 

Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions, 1789 – Present 
 
 

1789 – Present. Contains searchable full text of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present. Individual bills may be directly accessed or searched via a composite bill profile page that links out to its various versions. 

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Pages