Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: East Asian Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books (中國基本古籍庫) Zhongguo jiben guji ku 
 
 

Includes pre-20th century texts with full-text and images from a variety of subject areas organized into four sections: Philosophy and Science, History and Geography, Art and Literature, and General Works. There are 10,000 titles from the pre-Qin period through to the Republican period.  Available via Erudition.  To search, click the second resource under Products.   Access is restricted to one user at a time.  After use, please log out. Revisit if you are unable to access. 

Apabi Digital Resources 
 

Full-text access to over 5,000 contemporary Chinese e-book titles including literature, art, history, language, geography and popular fiction; 90 yearbook titles on national economic and social statistics; 26 major Chinese newspapers; Chinese Art images database; and more than 700 reference titles.

Asian American Drama 
 
 

Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% have never been published before.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (EBSCO) 
 
 

Contains more than 780,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

China Academic Journals 
 
 

Contains more than 3,500 full-text Chinese Journals. Content begins as early as 1906 and continues to the mid-twentieth century through 1993. Contains deep backfiles of full text journals with access to the following series only: Series F - Literature/History/Philosophy; Series G - Politics/Military Affairs/Law; Series H - Education & Social Sciences.

Chinamaxx Digital Library 
 
 

Full-text access to over 50,000 Chinese e-book titles from the Beijing SuperStar Digital Library in 22 major categories, including literature, history, law, economics, environmental studies, sciences, medicine, and engineering.

Chinese companies and products (CECDB) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse by industry. Information on company profiles, products, capitals, revenues, profits, contact details, web sites, and more is updated on a regular basis. Translations to English are available in most browsers. Also known as the Chinese Enterprises and Companies DataBase.

CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator 
 

Provides access to articles and books from Japanese sources including the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index. The National Institute of Informatics has compiled 2.8 million PDF articles in NII-ELS. Available in English and Japanese.

Dacheng Old Journal Full Text Database 
 
 

Includes more than 7,000 journal titles and 130,000 issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Articles can be downloaded in PDF format.

Database of Chinese Local Records (中國方志庫) Zhongguo fangzhi ku Database 1 and 2  
 
 

A resource of more than 10,000 local gazetteers and 10 million digitized images from the Song to the Republican eras.  Available via Erudition. To search, select the third line of resources under Product and proceed to log in via the blue button without inserting a user id or password. Then select the blue icon on the far left, top row.  Access is restricted to one user at a time. After use, please log out. Revisit if you are unable to access. 

Digital Gazetteer of the Song Dynasty 
 

A database designed to identify the events that transformed the political landscape of the Song Dynasty (960-1276) and developed to support Ruth Mostern's book, Dividing the Realm in Order to Govern: The Spatial Organization of the Song State. Download and utilize the MySQL version of the DGSD for complex or extensive data analysis.

Dissertations of China (DOC) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Browse by discipline or search Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions from 1986 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request.

Encyclopedia of Taiwan 
 
 

(Taiwan Wenxian Congkan) Includes abstracts and indexing from thousands of books, this database contains 595 books divided into 309 categories. The largest single database on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language. Incorporates local histories, official documents of the Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections.

Gujin Tushu Jicheng 
 
 

The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China. Includes most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty.

Harvard University Library 
 

Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

J-STAGE: Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic 
 

A repository of academic journal articles and research papers created and maintained by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JSTA) with the majority available as open access content.

Japanese Historical Maps 
 
 

The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains early maps of Japan and the world. The collection is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library.

JapanKnowledge Lib 
 

Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Toyo Bunko and Shukan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases.

Kikuzo II Visual 
 
 

One of the largest online newspaper databases in Japan. Enables users to search articles carried by the Asahi Shimbun over the past 130 years. Articles and photo archives from the Meiji, the Taisho, and the Showa era are included.

National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP) 
 
 

1833 - present. Contains over 25 million entries from about 16 thousand newspapers and periodicals from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.

Pages