Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: East Asian Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online) 
 
 

Photo images and related description articles of all the collections exhibited in NPM Online are authorized by the National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan. "NPM Online" is a database application aimed at educational promotion and academic exchanges, which is available with versions of four languages, including traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English.

National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan 
 
 

Images of approximately 5,000 selected masterpieces from the Chinese imperial collection representing paintings, examples of calligraphy, rare books and manuscripts, sculpture, ceramics, metalwork, jades, decorative arts, and utilitarian objects, from prehistory (Xia dynasty) to the early 20th century.

National Population Census of China Database (English version) 
 
 

Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. Available in English and Chinese.

NewspaperSG (Singapore)  
 

1831 - 2009. An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers from the National Library of Singapore.

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse more than 40 sub categories including State Laws, Regulations, Foreign Laws, etc.

Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database 
 

1872 - 1949. Shen Bao was the first major newspaper in China. Coverage from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic Era. A primary e-resource for modern Chinese studies. Chinese language only.

South and Southeast Asian Literature 
 
 

1825 - present. A collection of fiction, short fiction, poetry, interviews and manuscript materials with a focus on writing from the late-colonial and postcolonial eras. Works are written by authors from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore and Fiji.

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 
 
 

TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Note: Database interface available in Chinese and English

Taiyo Online 
 

Taiyo (The Sun), was a general interest magazine issued in Japan between 1895 and 1928 by Hakubunkan publisher.Coverage includes 175,000 pages from 34 volumes.

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library  
 
 

TBRC is a registered non-profit corporation dedicated to the preservation, organization and dissemination of Tibetan literature. The collection includes new publications, rare literature and publications from small printing houses, monasteries and educational institutions in China, India, Bhutan, and Nepal.

Wanfang Data 
 

Wanfang Data provides access to data relating to culture, medicine, business, science, and more. Includes access to the following collections only: Policies and Laws of China, Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China, China Academic Conference Proceedings, China Online Journals.

WhoPlus 
 
 

A database of biographical information on thousands of prominent people in Japan.  

Pages