Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Urban Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

DataSF 
 

DataSF is a clearinghouse of datasets available from the City & County of San Francisco.

Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest) 
 
 

*Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Ethnographic Video Online 
 
 

Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

National Population Census of China Database (English version) 
 
 

Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. Available in English and Chinese.

PAIS Index (ProQuest) 
 
 

Previously PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service). Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Population Index (on JSTOR) 
 
 

1937 - 1999. Annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population studies.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Taylor & Francis online journals  
 
 

Provides online access to journals published by Taylor & Francis, with over 3200 titles covering a wide array of subject areas.

Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Full-text articles from approximately 25 journals covering topics such as planning theory, community development, welfare economies, and urban culture.

World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators 
 

World Bank provides global statistical data in support of research and the understanding of global issues.