Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Science (General)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Academic Conferences in China 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Contains full-text papers, or abstracts and other descriptive information of papers from national and international conferences held in China from 1986 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) – Trial Access 
 
 

Contains expanded access to academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in a broad array of disciplines via EBSCOhost. Both English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America are included. Available on a two month UC-wide trial.

American Doctoral Dissertations (EBSCO)  
 

(1902-present) Includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations with links to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.

Annual Reviews 
 
 

A collection of over 30 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.

ArticleFirst 
 
 

1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

AuthorMapper 
 

A search tool from Springer to discern trends, patterns and subject experts in scientific fields. The site searches over 3 million Springer journal articles. Users can search using keyword, discipline, institution, journal and author. Results are displayed in charts, a timeline graph, and a map.

Awesome Public Datasets  
 

A list of high-quality open datasets organized into broad subject areas, covering biology, economics, medicine, the social sciences and more.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
 

BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

BIODIDAC 
 

This site contains hundreds of images organized into three sections covering Zoology, Botany, and Histology. All images can be used for non-commercial purposes.

Book Citation Index  
 
 

(2005-present) Connects the library’s book collection to additional discovery tools, optimizing citation navigation between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
 

Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science 
 
 

1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Current Contents Connect  
 
 

(1998-present) Provides access to complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books

Data Citation Index  
 
 

(1900 – present) Supports data discovery, reuse, and interpretation. Provides access to datasets in multiple repositories from a single destination.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
 
 

EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.

Ebrary 
 
 

A eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.

Pages