Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: History (World)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books (中國基本古籍庫) Zhongguo jiben guji ku 
 
 

Includes pre-20th century texts with full-text and images from a variety of subject areas organized into four sections: Philosophy and Science, History and Geography, Art and Literature, and General Works. There are 10,000 titles from the pre-Qin period through to the Republican period.  Available via Erudition.  To search, click the second resource under Products.   Access is restricted to one user at a time.  After use, please log out. Revisit if you are unable to access. 

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale) 
 
 

Represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. Includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.

18th Century Collections Online (Gale) 
 
 

Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Bibliography of British and Irish History 
 
 

Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. Also provides links to online catalogs from libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and provides links to online text where available.

C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index 
 
 

A source for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Draws on established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
 

CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Dacheng Old Journal Full Text Database 
 
 

Includes more than 7,000 journal titles and 130,000 issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Articles can be downloaded in PDF format.

Database of Chinese Local Records (中國方志庫) Zhongguo fangzhi ku Database 1 and 2  
 
 

A resource of more than 10,000 local gazetteers and 10 million digitized images from the Song to the Republican eras.  Available via Erudition. To search, select the third line of resources under Product and proceed to log in via the blue button without inserting a user id or password. Then select the blue icon on the far left, top row.  Access is restricted to one user at a time. After use, please log out. Revisit if you are unable to access. 

Digital Gazetteer of the Song Dynasty 
 

A database designed to identify the events that transformed the political landscape of the Song Dynasty (960-1276) and developed to support Ruth Mostern's book, Dividing the Realm in Order to Govern: The Spatial Organization of the Song State. Download and utilize the MySQL version of the DGSD for complex or extensive data analysis.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Empire Online 
 
 

1492 - 2007.A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies from libraries and archives around the world. Developed to encourage undergraduate work with rare primary documents by using images of the texts rather than transcriptions.

Encyclopedia of Taiwan 
 
 

(Taiwan Wenxian Congkan) Includes abstracts and indexing from thousands of books, this database contains 595 books divided into 309 categories. The largest single database on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language. Incorporates local histories, official documents of the Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections.

Explore the British Library 
 

Search, view and order items from the British Library's collection of nearly 57 million records.

Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports 
 
 

1941-1996. Provides access to translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, in addition to official news sources and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.

Google News Archive 
 

An archive of scanned newspapers. Chronological coverage varies with content from the early 1800s until 2009. The content focuses on North American titles. Note: Google is no longer actively archiving newspapers.

Gunsho Ruiju Online 
 
 

A collection of Japanase manuscripts from ancient through to the end of the early modern periods covering history, literature, religion, language, art, politics, economy, society and many other subjects. To access, click the Basic Search button and scroll down to Gunsho Ruiju series under JK Books.

Heritage of the Printed Book 
 
 

Currently unavailable. 1455-1830. Records for books and serials produced in Europe during the hand-press period.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) 
 
 

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use American History and Life.

Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey)  
 
 

Provides access to Palmer's Index to the Times, (1790-1905), Historical Index to the New York Times, (1851-1923), and Official Index to The Times, (190 -1980).

Hoover Institution Poster Collection 
 
 

Features posters from around the world. The largest number are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Russian empire and the Soviet Union, and France.

Pages