Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: History (United States)

Legend

Research Starting Points

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) 
 
 

Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Ad*Access Project 
 

An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.

African American Newspapers 
 
 

1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 
 
 

Fully searchable database features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, and more.

Alabama Mosaic 
 

Alabama Mosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Featuring content from libraries, archives and museums from across Alabama, AlabamaMosaic provides access to thousands of images.

Alaska's Digital Archives 
 

Provides access to a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps,documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout the state.

America's Historical Newspapers 
 
 

1690 - 1900. Full text of historical American newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C.  Searchable via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface.  Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 (1690-1876) and 2 (1758-1900) and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

America: History & Life (EBSCO) 
 
 

This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting Online Reading Room 
 

(1940-current) A collection of nearly 7,000 audiovisual streaming files from significant public television and radio programs across the country. Preserved by the Library of Congress, WGBH Boston and the Corporation of Public Broadcasting, the material contains national and local news, local history productions, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion and filmmaking on a local level. 

American Civil War : Letters and Diaries, The 
 
 

(1848-1897) Provides access to an extensive range of diaries, letters, and memoirs of people involved in the American Civil War. A collection from Alexander Street Press.

American History in Video 
 
 

Provides access to a rich collection of online video for the study of American History. Includes commercial and government newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries from PBS and the History Channel. Playlists can be created by any registered user.

American Masters 
 

Consisting of more than 250 hours of programming to date, AMERICAN MASTERS is a growing film library documenting the role important individuals, groups, and movements have played in the formation of our cultural identity.

American Memory Project 
 

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

American Memory Project: Map Collections 
 

Eleven map collections digitized from the Library of Congress. Content includes maps from the Civil War to World War II.

American Periodicals (ProQuest) 
 
 

1740-1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

American state papers, 1789-1838 
 
 

(1789-1838) Contains U.S. congressional materials, searchable by subject matter, publication category, committee author, document class or particular Congress. Available via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface.

American West 
 
 

American West is a unique resource which allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws and the environmental impact of westward expansion. The collection is a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

AP Images Collection 
 
 

Includes Associated Press's current-year photo report and a selection from a 50-million image print and negative library dating from 1844-present. Currently contains about 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995.

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record 
 

The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public.

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) 
 
 

Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).

Pages