Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Science (Environmental)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog 
 

Search the National Agricultural Library Catalog and Article Citation Database or browse by subject. Topics covered include agriculture, agronomy, animal science, aquaculture, biology, botany, breeding, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, environment, fertilizers, pesticides, food agriculture, forestry, and horticulture.

AGRIS 
 

AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology created by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations in 1974. Covers journal articles, books, and reports on agricultural sciences and technology, including fisheries and aquaculture.

ASABE Technical Library 
 
 

Provides access to the journals, conference proceedings, distinguished lecture series and other publications from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. 

Atlas of our Changing Environment 
 

Through illustrations, satellite images, and ground photographs, this interactive media depicts and describes humanity's past and present impact on the environment. The primary focus is on environmental status and trends over the last 30 years, in terms of both physical and human geography. View using Google Maps or Google Earth (download required).

ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles 
 
 

Provides 152 final toxicological profiles covering the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals and compounds from the U.S. Public Health Service's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.

Awesome Public Datasets  
 

A list of high-quality open datasets organized into broad subject areas, covering biology, economics, medicine, the social sciences and more.

Biodiversity Heritage Library 
 

A sizable collection of digitized, open access books and journals on biodiversity created by a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries.  Searchable by title, author, subject, publication date, collection or contributing library.

Bioline International 
 

A collection of peer-reviewed, open access journals published in developing countries focusing on public health, international development, food and nutritional security, tropical medicine and biodiversity.

BioOne Complete 
 
 

A collection from BioOne of 200+ high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

ENVIROnetBASE 
 
 

From CRCnetBASE: The latest research on pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination, this e-book collection provides complete access to references on methods for site assessment, remediation, and soil and water quality monitoring. The Environmental Science Collection describes new tools and technologies for remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetric environmental monitoring.

EPrint Network 
 

Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

FAOStat 
 

Note: Registration is free but required. Downloads are limited to 4,000 records at a time. International statistics on production, trade, food balances, forestry, land use, irrigation, fertilizer, pesticides, agriculture, food aid, and fisheries.

Forest Service Research Data Archive  
 

Publishes and preserves research data collected from studies by USDA Forest Service Research and Development (FS R&D), the Joint Fire Science Program (JFSP), and the Aldo Leopold Wilderness Research Institute (ALWRI). Coverage includes silviculture, hydrology, wildlife management and other disciplines. Searchable by date of publication, author, location of study, study funder and keyword.

GeoRef* (ProQuest) 
 
 

*Includes GeoRef in Process. 1963-present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

GreenFILE (EBSCO) 
 
 

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 
 
 

Contains the complete text, including citations, tables, and abstracts, of many volumes of the 4th ed. of the Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) 
 

1990 - present.A resource for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business information.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials 
 
 

A reference source with data on approximately 26,000 substances. Used to evaluate the hazardous characteristics of substances. Information on toxicity, flammability, reactivity, and explosive potential is included.

Pages