Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Architecture

Legend

Research Starting Points

Andrew Dickson White Collection of Architectural Photographs 
 
 

Comprised of approximately 13,000 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century photographs of architecture, decorative arts, and sculpture, this collection was established by Andrew Dickson White, the first president of Cornell University,.

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) 
 
 

Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Previously Art Source (EBSCO).

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) 
 
 

1934-present. Covers the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, including the publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated weekly.

Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection 
 
 

Created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project, the Claire Holt Papers comprise approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia and typescript notes about a trip to Indonesia in 1955-1956.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Emporis Buildings 
 

The world's largest publicly available database on architectural and building data.

Getty Research Library 
 

Includes the Art & Architecture Thesaurus, the Getty Provenance Index and the Photo Study Collection.

Great Buildings Collection 
 

Multimedia encyclopedia of world architecture.

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO) 
 

Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century. Describes the entire journal contents including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog 
 

One of the largest digital image databases in the world, this database includes more than 1 million digital images of people, historical events, places, architecture, and more.

Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives (SOVA) 
 

Provides access to descriptions and inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian. The collections document the history of art, culture, music, flight, space exploration, science and technology, and native cultures in the United States, as well as history of the Smithsonian itself.