Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Health Sciences

Legend

Research Starting Points

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality  
 

Provides access to practical health care information, research findings, and medical data to help consumers, health providers, researchers, and policymakers make informed decisions about health care issues. Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Annual Reviews 
 
 

A collection of over 30 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.

ArticleFirst 
 
 

1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles 
 
 

Provides 152 final toxicological profiles covering the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals and compounds from the U.S. Public Health Service's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.

Bioline International 
 

A collection of peer-reviewed, open access journals published in developing countries focusing on public health, international development, food and nutritional security, tropical medicine and biodiversity.

BioMed Central 
 

BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

Biosis Citation Index 
 
 

1926 - present. Supports access, research and discovery in the life sciences. Indexes 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records. Includes conference proceedings, books and patents. Biosis Previews are included in Biosis Citation Index.

California Health Interview Survey 
 

CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
 

Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

China Online Journals (COJ) 
 
 

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator 
 

Provides access to articles and books from Japanese sources including the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index. The National Institute of Informatics has compiled 2.8 million PDF articles in NII-ELS. Available in English and Japanese.

Cochrane Summaries 
 

Contains research summaries on medicine and health from 37,000 contributors in an effort to provide credible, accessible health information that is free from commercial sponsorship and other conflicts of interest.

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collections 1, 2 and 3 
 
 

A collection of over 100 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field. Through Morgan & Claypool Publishers.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 
 

Provides access to county-by-county data related to factors that influence health: smoking, obesity, poverty, access to health care, etc. Compiled by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
 
 

Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Ergonomic Abstracts (EBSCO) 
 
 

Provides indexing for eBooks, journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings in the field of ergonomics. Includes information related to safety science, occupational health, biomechanics, physiology and more.

F1000Prime 
 
 

Identifies important articles in biology and medical research publications, selected by a global 'Faculty' of more than 8,000 scientists and clinicians. Their recommendations form a fully searchable database containing more than 100,000 records. 

F1000Research 
 
 

An open research publishing platform for life scientists offering immediate publication of articles, posters and slides. Access to F1000 Faculty Reviews, open access reviews providing extensive coverage of the life sciences is also included.

F1000Workspace 
 
 

A free suite of tools to help with writing, collaborating, reference management and preparation for publishing within the life sciences.

Pages