Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Astronomy and Astrophysics

Legend

Research Starting Points

AIP Scitation 
 
 

Provides online access to a robust collection of close to 1 million articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and AIPP's publishing partners.

ARIBIB Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts 
 
 

1898 - 2000.Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts (AAA) aims to present a comprehensive documentation of the literature concerning all aspects of astronomy, astrophysics, and their neighbouring fields.

Astronomical Society of the Pacific Conference Series 
 

The ASP is a leading publisher of conference proceedings on recent developments in Astronomy and Astrophysics. Conference Series volumes provide a comprehensive overview of the latest research in a particular field of astronomy.

Astrophysics Data System 
 

1975 - present.This NASA-funded service provides access to four sets of abstracts dating back to 1975: astronomical articles, space instrumentation and engineering articles, physics and geophysics articles, and the Los Alamos preprint server. Includes abstracts from all major journals, many minor journals, conference proceedings, NASA reports, and many PhD dissertations.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 
 
 

Contains the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Part of the CHEMnetBASE collection.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

INSPEC 
 
 

1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

INSPEC Archive 
 
 

1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Landolt-Bornstein Archives 
 
 

Data from all areas of physical science and engineering. Available on Portico platform. Click on E-BOOK TITLES (center tab) to see list of titles.

NASA Astrophysics Data System 
 

Includes four sets of abstracts: astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos National Laboratory preprints.

NASA Image eXchange 
 

(NIX) Cross-database search of images from NASA. Also includes images from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, the Johnson Space Center, the Ames Research Center and others.

NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server 
 

1951 - present. Provides research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents and preliminary data of NASA's technical literature. This resource includes both citations and full-text documents. Use the Advanced Search option to access additional non-NASA information.

University of Chicago Press Online Journals 
 
 

Chicago Journals Online is a fully searchable online portal including nearly fifty scholarly journals and annuals - from the latest research in a wide range of subjects to historical content dating from the founding of the University of Chicago Press in 1892 when it began publishing the Journal of Political Economy.