Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Engineering (General)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Access Engineering (Selected Titles hosted by CDL) 
 
 

Selected engineering texts from McGraw-Hill. Includes titles focused on Electrical, Civil, Mechanical and Chemical engineering disciplines. Includes Perry’s Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.

ASABE Technical Library 
 
 

Provides access to the journals, conference proceedings, distinguished lecture series and other publications from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. 

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) 
 

Provides access to a large collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

AuthorMapper 
 

A search tool from Springer to discern trends, patterns and subject experts in scientific fields. The site searches over 3 million Springer journal articles. Users can search using keyword, discipline, institution, journal and author. Results are displayed in charts, a timeline graph, and a map.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
 

BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
 

Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

CiteSeer 
 

A search engine which crawls academic and scientific documents (primarily in the areas of computer science, information science, and engineering) and considers the citation impact when ranking results.

COMPENDEX PLUS 
 
 

1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science 
 
 

1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
 

Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) 
 
 

1971-present.Citations and abstracts for coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Includes information on conference proceedings, research reports, monographs, technical reports, patents, press releases, newsletter items and journal articles.

Eigenfactor 
 

This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE 
 
 

From CRCnetBASE. Offers a diverse range of references, covering everything from VLSI and semiconductor design to power engineering, signal processing, and MEMS devices.

ENGnetBASE 
 
 

A collection of engineering handbooks.

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
 

A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Google Scholar 
 

A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical reports.

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
 

A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library 
 
 

1913 - present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards.

Pages