Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: American Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

Alabama Mosaic 
 

Alabama Mosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Featuring content from libraries, archives and museums from across Alabama, AlabamaMosaic provides access to thousands of images.

Alaska's Digital Archives 
 

Provides access to a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps,documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout the state.

America: History & Life (EBSCO) 
 
 

This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting Online Reading Room 
 

(1940-current) A collection of nearly 7,000 audiovisual streaming files from significant public television and radio programs across the country. Preserved by the Library of Congress, WGBH Boston and the Corporation of Public Broadcasting, the material contains national and local news, local history productions, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion and filmmaking on a local level. 

American Masters 
 

Consisting of more than 250 hours of programming to date, AMERICAN MASTERS is a growing film library documenting the role important individuals, groups, and movements have played in the formation of our cultural identity.

American Memory Project 
 

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

American Memory Project: Map Collections 
 

Eleven map collections digitized from the Library of Congress. Content includes maps from the Civil War to World War II.

American National Biography 
 
 

Detailed articles on more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes bibliographies and links to web resources. Several hundred new entries added each year.

American Periodicals (ProQuest) 
 
 

1740-1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

American West 
 
 

American West is a unique resource which allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws and the environmental impact of westward expansion. The collection is a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

Calisphere 
 

A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  
 

Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Duke Digital Collections 
 

Digital image collection held by Duke University Libraries or other organizations affiliated with Duke University. Includes collections such as the William Gedney Photographs and Writings, Historic American Sheet Music and the Emergence of Advertising in America.

Early American Newspapers, Series 1 
 
 

(1690-1876) Full text of historical American newspapers searchable via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface. Also accessible through America's Historical Newspapers.

Early American Newspapers, Series 2 
 
 

(1758-1900) Full text of historical American newspapers searchable via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface. Also accessible through America's Historical Newspapers.

Early Encounters in North America 
 
 

This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico.

European Views of the Americas (EBSCO) 
 
 

1493 - 1750. Bibliographic database containing more than 32,000 entries. A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

Everyday Life and Women in America 
 
 

A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.

Google News Archive 
 

An archive of scanned newspapers. Chronological coverage varies with content from the early 1800s until 2009. The content focuses on North American titles. Note: Google is no longer actively archiving newspapers.

HarpWeek 
 
 

1857 - 1912. Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly a weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century. Besides coverage of news and opinion, the database includes illustrations, cartoons, literature, biographies and advertisements.

Pages