Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Linguistics and Languages

Legend

Research Starting Points

ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) 
 
 

Access to literary texts including dictionaries and reference works.

Caribbean Literature 
 
 

When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
 

CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

D-PLACE: Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment 
 

Brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1400 human societies, facilitating comparison and contrast of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.

Digitalia Hispanica 
 
 

Provides access to over five thousand digitized Spanish language academic ebooks and ejournals from a broad range of subjects.

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
 

1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC) 
 
 

A consortium focused on acquiring, archiving, preserving and distributing linguistic corpora. View currently available data sets and instructions for accessing here.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) 
 
 

1926-present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Oxford English Dictionary 
 
 

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
 
 

Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

The Arts (Proquest) 
 
 

Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TTL) Online 
 
 

The largest dictionary of the Latin language encompassing the use of Latin from its origin to the 7th century A.D.